Adding/deleting attachments in Confluence will no longer trigger an email notification

Important Update (February 2, 2023):

Confluence has decided to add a setting (Go to your profile image → settings → email) where you can turn on these emails if you choose. We have started rolling this out customers today and as of Feb 7, it will be rolled out to all customers. This means the setting will be unchecked (turned off) by default on a per user basis, so if you would like to continue receiving attachment emails, please go to the below settings page and Check the “Subscribe to attachment notifications” button.

8697818c-239d-4e31-92ad-76bba63b4cc9.jpeg

Please don't hesitate to reach out below or to support if you have any questions. 

Dear Atlassian Community,

I’m Nancy, and I’m a product manager on our Confluence Cloud team.

I want to make you aware that effective January 2023, Confluence will no longer send email notifications when documents are attached.

Currently, any time an attachment is added or deleted from the Attachments subpage or the attachments macro, watchers of that page or space will receive an email notification stating that a user added a file or deleted a file. Here is an example of that email notification.

Adding an attachment:Screen Shot 2022-10-19 at 2.11.23 PM.pngDeleting an attachment (space admin):
Screen Shot 2022-11-03 at 4.23.00 PM.png

The reason for this notification removal is that the Confluence notifications team has started a long-term project to revamp email notifications, bringing a series of design and product changes to notifications to help increase the usability of email notifications as well as help reduce volume. Based off of user feedback and to improve consistency, we are removing this notification. 

We apologize for any disruptions this might cause your workflow. If you are currently using this particular email, you can still manually navigate to the attachments subpage to see if anything new has been updated.