A refreshed Space directory for Confluence Cloud

Hi there! My name is Jacob, and I’m a developer on the Confluence Discovery & Organization team. For the past few months, my team has been busy working on some cool new features to make it easier to find your Confluence pages.

Since one of our company values is “Build with Heart and Balance”, we believe it’s important that our team strikes a balance between introducing features and maintaining existing ones.

That’s why I am excited to share with you our update to the Confluence Space directory! We overhauled the experience to make it faster and easier to find the spaces you’re looking for.

image-20201110-192902.png

Refreshed design

Let’s be honest — the old design was functional, but it sure wasn’t pretty. We’ve refreshed the design of Space directory to match the latest Atlassian Design Guidelines. We also took this opportunity to improve the accessibility and responsiveness. Now the Space directory is more friendly to screen readers and will adapt to various screen sizes.

A bit of new functionality

Now can now see which spaces you are watching and watch/unwatch a space without ever leaving the Space directory.

Fun fact: while developing this feature I actually discovered internal Atlassian spaces that I didn’t even know I was watching!

Better performance

I read customer feedback every week, and at least one thing is abundantly clear — many customers care about speed. That’s why I am super excited to tell you about Space directory performance: Navigating to and from Space directory is now 2x faster!

Thanks!

I typically write code, not announcement posts, so thanks for reading! Space directory is currently in the process of being gradually rolled out, and it should find its way to your Confluence instance in the near future. If you have any feedback, please reach out to me via this post! My goal is to make your Space directory experience as smooth as possible. Cheers!

11 comments