i have war and need to clover the build to my integration tests with maven

vinod kumar July 1, 2015

Hi,

I'm new to clover and have war from dev team and need to perform build with clover and run my integration tests with maven.

1. Could you help how to build the war with clover.
  2. How to run mvn integration tests on clover build

3 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Grzegorz Lewandowski
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
July 1, 2015

Hi vinod kumar,

You can't really run Clover with already builded war file. It's because Clover is basing on source code instrumentation. But you can integrate Clover with Maven to build proper artifact and generate code coverage reports from it.

Here are some links from documentation how to achieve it:

Remember about setting up flush policy, which may cause some problems:

https://confluence.atlassian.com/display/CLOVER/Using+Clover+for+web+applications#UsingCloverforwebapplications-Flushingcoveragedatainapplicationcontainer

If you have problems with configuring Clover feel free to ask,

Best Regards,

Grzegorz Lewandowski

0 votes
Grzegorz Lewandowski
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
July 3, 2015

Hi, 

1. The main difference is that clover2:setup saves time stamp for Clover test optimization feature and clover2:instrument forks the process and add suffixes for generated artifacts, in general if you won't be use any specific automatic deployment we're suggesting using clover2:setup 
  2. clover.jar is required by instrumented code otherwise you'll face ClassNotFoundErrors so your need ensure clover.jar is in the classpath by i.e:

1. bundling it in created war in META-INF/lib directory
    2. providing it in $CATALINA_BASE/lib directory, for reference