code coverage with gui execution and without writing test cases

balram maurya July 28, 2013

hi everyone,

i am new to clover.
i have installed clover with ant and eclipse and written test cases and i generated the code coverage report successfully .
now i want to attach clover with my web-project in eclipse and if i run with on appache server
then i want to generate code coverage how much code covered when click on any link.
and also it should be increase as i click more links.

if is it possible please give me solution ..

thanks in advance.

2 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Marek Parfianowicz
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
July 28, 2013

Hi Balram,

Steps you have to perform:

1) Set the flush policy to "threaded" or "interval" (Project Properties > Clover > Flush Policy) and rebuild the whole project.

2) Create a WAR with instrumented classes and deploy to your server. Make sure that clover.jar is available on server's class path.

3) If your application server runs on the same PC as your Eclipse, then use absolute path for initstring (Project Properties > Clover > Initstring > disable "Relative to project root" and choose "custom initstring" toggle).

If not - copy clover.db (coverage.db) produced after compilation to your server and run server with -Dclover.initstring=/path/to/clover.db parameter.

4) Run your server (I guess that using "Run with Clover as..." and your run configuration in Eclipse shall be sufficient).

4) Execute your manual tests

5) Generate report as soon as tests are done. In case when server was running on a different machine, you'll have to copy coverage data files back to your PC.

More information:

Cheers
Marek

()

i have attached the image

thanks a lot Marek.

• i used above configuration as shown in image.
  • my server and eclipse both are on same pc.
  • i copied clover.jar file on appache tomcat\lib folder.