Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Separating Clover deployment and test execution

Mark N July 3, 2015

Greetings,

I'm using Jenkins and maven to build a Clover-instrumented war file that is deployed on one machine - this is all done in one Jenkins job using maven.

Once the war is deployed and the application is started,  I use another Jenkins job to run our regression tests. The Jenkins test job runs on a different machine and when it execute  the clover2:aggregate clover2:clover  steps in maven, there's no clover db found locally

I'm relatively new to Clover, is there a way to use or specify remote Clover dbs?

Thanks,

Mark

5 answers

0 votes
Grzegorz Lewandowski
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
July 10, 2015

Hi, 

1. The clover.initstring will be resolved at runtime so modifying catalina.sh should be enough. There's probably more options to configure this system property, e.g. with setting JAVA_OPTS or CATALINA_OPTS environment variables. Please refer to Tomcat documentation for more information about this. 
  2. Clover 3.0.5 supports initstring property. 

Best regards,

Grzegorz Lewandowski 

0 votes
Mark N July 7, 2015

Hello again, 

Thanks again for your time and the great detailed answer.   The environment that I have to deal with is pretty much as you described, the only small difference is that machine A and machine B are one of the same.  

The job that builds and deploys the application occurs on the same machine (machine A = machine B).   

So two more questions...

1. Does this mean that the -Dclover.initstring=/path/to/clover.db parameter is part of the application server's startup command line arguments?  I'm using a pretty basic Tomcat configuration so to me that means that I would have to modify my catalina.sh properties - which is not really a big problem.