bitbucket 4.7.1 fails to start after install

I'm new at Bitbucket and did a fresh install of Bitbucket Server on 64 bit Redhat linux system with the recommended installer. Unfortunatelly the server will not start without errors.

I get stacktrace in catalina.log:

ERROR: Unable to start system bundle. (java.lang.StackOverflowError: operating system stack overflow)
rg.apache.catalina.core.AprLifecycleListener.lifecycleEvent The APR based Apache Tomcat Native library which allows optimal performance in production environments was not found on the java.library.path
java.lang.StackOverflowErrorROR: Unable to start system bundle

Information on different pages mention problems with startup Bitbucket but non of them seems to apply to my instance.

What did I try:

• reinstall
  • reinstall perl and git
  • checked config

3 answers

1 accepted

We are running java version "1.8.0" Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build pxa6480sr3-20160428_01(SR3)) IBM J9 VM (build 2.8, JRE 1.8.0 Linux amd64-64 Compressed References 20160427_301573 (JIT enabled, AOT enabled) J9VM - R28_Java8_SR3_20160427_1620_B301573 JIT  - tr.r14.java.green_20160329_114288 GC   - R28_Java8_SR3_20160427_1620_B301573_CMPRSS J9CL - 20160427_301573) JCL - 20160421_01 based on Oracle jdk8u91-b14

I think this is another Java-taste - IBM Java - and don't know if it is compatible with Oracle JDK or OpenJDK.

We are going to install Oracle Java and see what happens. I will provide new info once I have it.

0 votes

Are you using the correct JAVA version?

Hello Maarten,

did you solve this problem? I had the same problem with JIRA and we use also the IBM-Java. (It is a company 

specification)

Thanks,

Markus

Suggest an answer

Community showcase
Piotr Plewa
Published Dec 27, 2017 in Bitbucket

Recipe: Deploying AWS Lambda functions with Bitbucket Pipelines