Where to create a branch: Stash or local?

Geoffrey Stoel November 6, 2014

Hi there..

I am new to Stash and have only limited git experience by using it for my local development version control. I have introduced Stash in our team so we can start doing version control of our scripts. 

I plan to use either the Feature Branch workflow, or the Git Workflow methodology. 

Main question I have is when creating a branch to work on a feature (in any of the workflows) where do you guys create the branch normally? 

• In your local repo? If so - how do your team mates/colleagues now about this one (do you push back the clean branch?)
  • In the central repo? If so - using stash web or git command? SourceTree maybe? (and then pull that one down locally?)

Newby questions all the way smile

G.

2 answers

1 vote
Balázs Szakmáry
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
November 6, 2014

I usually either create the branch on the web interface or locally just before I create the first commit. (And push the branch together with the first commit.) It mainly depends on what is in front of me when I start working on something.

If it is important for your team to see the empty branches as soon as they are created (for example as a signal that somebody has started working on a task), it is slightly better to agree on creating all branches on the web interface.

0 votes
LifeOfAFlippedTable
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
November 13, 2014

Hi Geoffrey, 

Thanks in taking an interest in using Stash.

Main question I have is when creating a branch to work on a feature (in any of the workflows) where do you guys create the branch normally?