Stash API - How do you Fork to a user's account as Admin

seanvoss July 15, 2013

As a System Admin, I'm trying to migrate many user's accounts which currently have forks of upstream repository, how would I go about doing that via the API.

I looked for a way to do it with the fork create request, and didn't see a way to masquerade as user option.

3 answers

0 votes
Sean Voss July 16, 2013

Cool, yea I'm going down that path, I think I have eclipse configured and the sdk installed correctly.

Was checking into the tutorials, to get a feel for coding a plugin.

You feel like sending some links that would relevant to building this project to give me a shove in the right direction?

cofarrell
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
July 17, 2013

Hi Sean,

I'm always a fan of examples over tutorials:

http://atlassian.bitbucket.org/#stash

There's obviously our dev docs as well:

https://developer.atlassian.com/stash/docs/latest/

Good luck. :)

Charles

0 votes
Sean Voss July 15, 2013

I was hoping to do this using the Rest API, but this is exactly what I had in mind.

I'm looking to migrate a rather large userbase with quite a few Repos & quite a few Forks per Repo (from github) and I'd like to keep the structure intact. That means as far as I can tell, using the Forking creation api, you can only do it either to the user's default, or a project using a KEY.

My plan of attack was what I listed above, but if I have to go to the Java Plugin route, that would be okay whilst slower as I can write Java as well.

What do you think Charles, is there a better way to go about it?

Thanks,

Sean

cofarrell
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.