Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Should Stash Administrator account be a new account?

Chad DeShaw November 18, 2014

I am currently installing Stash for the first time and configuring setup. Should the Stash Administrator account be a new account and new email separate from my account since I am also a developer and will be making commits and pull requests? I am looking for guidance on best practice here thanks.

3 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Balázs Szakmáry
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
November 18, 2014

It is better to have one account per person and give the right level of access to individuals as needed. (e.g. if later, you want to have more admins, they should not share the same user/password, if you leave and someone else becomes admin, only the right of your account and theirs are changed.)

I am still confused, the configuration process asks for you to setup the initial administrator account, is it ok for that to be me or should I make it a separate account then use that account to give me the rights I will need?

For example if I make the administrator account me on install and for some reason I got hit by a bus, is there a way for someone else to recover the administrator account password?

Balázs Szakmáry
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
November 18, 2014