Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Setup SourceTree with Stash and Pull Requests

Morgan Kita September 17, 2014

I am new to Git and I have been tasked with setting up Git for a new project. They already have Stash licenses, and I would ideally use that for the back-end repo synchronization and the integrated pull request feature for code reviews.

I just installed SourceTree for Windows as well and it seems slick, a polished client GUI for sure. However, I am a little murky on how best to setup the workflow between stash and sourcetree in regards to Pull Requests.

So just for an example and not intended to represent our future branch structure... say I have a Stash project/repo called master. I then create a local only branch called "test_branch", branched from my local master in SourceTree. I then commit a simple change to my "test_branch", say a new file. So now I have a remote master, local master, and a local test_branch which is one change ahead.

So I am assuming... the "test_branch" MUST be pushed to the remote in a corresponding "test_branch", for a pull request to take place? Or should this work with a local only feature branch to remote master? Anyways say for sake of argument, I push the "test_branch" separately to my stash repo first, and now I have a local and remote "test_branch" that are in sync, and both 1 change ahead of my local and remote master. At this point, if I in the interface choose "Repository->Create Pull Request", and pick "test_branch" as my local branch, and "master" as my remote branch, and then click "Create Pull Request on Web", I would expect it to open up a browser window, launch stash's web interface, and bring up a pull request creation page, with the basic information for the request pre-filled.