Repository Ownership

josetrein July 20, 2017

Hello all.

I'm new to this Bitbucket experience and maybe I'm doing something wrong. Lets see:

I have a "super account" where I'm creating my repositories, so far I have at this account 20 users, and some repositories. I'm creating all the repos under this account making it the owner of the repos.

However, when I try to make things a bit more structured by having:

Project -> Team -> Repository 

The repo changes the ownership to the Project, and now I cant have more than 5 users in the repo. I'm creating the Project with that "super account".

Am I doing something wrong or I would need a Bitbucket Plan for each Project with 5+ users?

Thanks.

1 answer

1 vote
Ana Retamal
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
July 20, 2017

Hi Jose, what do you mean by a "Super account"? In Bitbucket Cloud we have 2 types of accounts: individuals and teams. A project is just a way to organize your repos within the account, you can have as many projects as you want for free, the only limitation resides in the number of users that you can grant access to your repositories in total (it doesn't matter if these repositories are part of a project or not).

Note that a project can not be the owner of a repo, the owner can only be an individual or a team account. For this reason, I believe that the structure you mentioned must be Team -> Project -> Repository and not Project -> Team -> Repository. The team would become the owner of the repo and you can have up 5 users for free, if you need more you'll need to upgrade your plan. 

Regarding the 2 types of accounts:

You can also have a look at our pricing at Plan details.

Does this answer your questions, Jose?

Best regards,

Ana

josetrein July 20, 2017

After reading you, I believe I'm in the Individual Account.