Local and Remote Repo not Synced

Joost van der Steen May 30, 2017

Hi there, I'm pretty new to GIT and Bitbucket and I have run into a problem because I'm new to this. My repo on bitbucket is not in sync with my local but when I'm trying to push my local repo to bitbucket it says everything is the same so nothing happens.

Everything was working fine until Git was telling me I couldn't push, being sure of what I thought was the solution I force pushed to bitbucket.

The force didn't do what I expected, on bitbucket I have 4 commits with the last one on the 13th of may. So by force pushing it didn't push my last commit but it somehow removed a few commits.
Locally I see 10 commits with the last one today. When I try to push it again it says there are no changed even though the commits are different and the code should be too.

I don't know exactly what I've done wrong an how I can solve this so that the commits I see locally are also on bitbucket.

Hope someone can help me with this,

Thanks in advance,

Joost 

1 answer

0 votes
Ana Retamal
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
May 31, 2017

Hi Joost!

Have all the files been staged and commited? You can get the status of your local repository and see how your local project is progressing in comparison to your Bitbucket repo. If there are any untracked files, that means that Git does not see them as part of a previous commit and thus, they'll be invisible for Bitbucket. To check the status you can use:

git status

If there are untracked files, you'll need to tell Git to track them. To do so use:

git add <file_name>

Now that all your files have been staged, you can commit them and then push using:

git push origin master

To learn more, please visit Copy your git repository and add files.

If get status was not showing any differences between your local repo and Bitbucket, please let us know so we can help you further.

Cheers!

Ana