Is my cloning stuck or is it just taking a long time?

Luca Wistendahl May 19, 2017

I'm very new to git and I've been cloning a repo from BitBucket cloud in SourceTree to my local machine for roughly an hour now. My internet connection is average and so I'd usually chalk this up to a large repo (I don't have access to check the repo size in BitBucket but I'm cloning an organization's entire website, so I assume it's quite large).

However, the loading bar for the cloning process is full, yet the the output is stuck on "cloning into '<path to repo>'. . ."

Apparently there's no way to accurately check the progress of a clone, but this seems like an abnormally long time. Does this sound like the cloning is stuck or has encountered an error somewhere?

EDIT: Spelling

8 answers

1 accepted

3 votes
Answer accepted
Luca Wistendahl May 19, 2017

Apparently it was an issue with SSH. After about 2.5 hours the clone failed and I tried again using HTTPS. It worked fine.

Ahmedur Rahman Shovon April 11, 2018

Hi Luca,
Same issue here. Could you fix it later?

Like abdellatif.benhamou-njc likes this
Luca Wistendahl April 12, 2018

Hello Ahmedur,

As I mentioned above, all I had to do was use HTTPS and the clone was successful.

Unfortunately I don't remember any more of the details of this issue.

Best of luck!

Like # people like this
reynergiovanni August 16, 2018

hi Luca, how did you choose between HTTP and HTTPS? 

Bruce August 16, 2018

i think when you set up your profile

Like kooliatef likes this
Prabakaran Muthusamy March 24, 2022

is any solutions for SSH method?

Like TheKingArthas likes this
TheKingArthas May 7, 2022

@Prabakaran Muthusamy please check my answer below

Like Anshul Shukla likes this
8 votes
TheKingArthas May 7, 2022

I had exactly the same issue on my Mac using SourceTree and a GitHub account.

This is how I solved it:

1. Open your terminal (CMD + spacebar, type terminal, press enter).
  2. There clone any repo you want using the SSH path.