Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is it possible to use WSL as runner ?

Thomas Cangialosi November 30, 2021

Hello

I am testing various things on pipelines to decide whether or not we will use it as CI tool for my company.

I am wondering if it is possible to use WSL as runner for compilation step. 

We have a windows based compilation toolchain which include licenced compiler so it is impossible to switch to linux for now.

WSL seems like a promising way to link bitbucket pipeline runners and our toolchain. 

The problem is that we must specify a docker image for the runner. Is it possible to use WSL as linux environment AND then as docker image for the runner ? 

If not, is it possible to not specify any docker image and run directly the scripts in wsl ?

I am not an expert in docker images and continuous integration so maybe there are some things I do not see. Please enlight me :) 

Thanks a lot 

2 answers

0 votes
Dmitry January 8, 2022

Self-hosted runners work with DockerDesktop on Windows (on WSL), but log files from containers are not available due to another log file location in DockerDesktop (and they are not accessible from WSL runner). I hope this will be fixed.. in some way.

0 votes
Theodora Boudale
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
December 7, 2021

Hi Thomas and welcome to the community!

Do you need to run your builds on a Windows host?

If so, we have an Early Access Program for Widnows runners. You can see more details here:

There is a link in that post to sign up if you'd be interested and would like to try it.

I'm not sure if it's possible to use WSL as a linux environment for the runner, I would need to test this and check with my team internally, and I'll let you know.

Kind regards,
Theodora

Theodora Boudale
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.