Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Importing complex SVN into stash

Jeff Warnica August 7, 2013

I'm trying to evaluate Stash, specifically with an end goal of migrating from a very legacy SVN setup as well. I'm new to this team, and was not involved in the inital SVN layout. Anyway, long story short, its a mess. I've used svn2git, and the rather generic Atlassian docs, but, well, GIGO, I suppose. I see that pull requests can go across repositories (and assume, automatic triggers could, too). Maybe I just need to build things out by hand.

I guess, I'm wondering if there is a more full "worst case" import scenario?

6 answers

1 vote
Andrew Morin August 7, 2013

In Stash once you create a repository there is a "Import from SVN" link on the new repository page. This will import directly from Subversion. I have used this with much greater success then any of the svn2git or other conversion options to import non tradional type SVN repositories into Git. (Repo's exceeding 1.5 GB per branch in SVN) As far as process goes if moving to Git you should be starting to look at your processes in a whole new way as well....

cofarrell
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
August 7, 2013

Good suggestion Andrew. FYI that's not in Stash by default - you need to install the following plugin:

http://subgit.com/stash/

0 votes
Semyon Vadishev
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
August 9, 2013

Sorry, I thought you're already using our plugin for Stash.