How to set the text encoding?

Mauro Molinari April 22, 2015

I'm new to BitBucket. I just created a repository and pushed some code. This code is encoded with ISO-8559-1 charset. However, when I browse it on BitBucket interface I see corrupted accented letters. I guess BitBucket assumes text files are in UTF-8 character encoding, but it's not my case.

How can I fix fhis? Is there an setting to tell BitBucket that text files in a repository are in a different encoding?

Is the "encoding" property of .gitattributes supported?

3 answers

1 accepted

3 votes
Answer accepted
Gary
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
May 14, 2015

Hi Mauro,

The Bitbucket website does default to UTF-8, and does not allow you to choose what encoding that the reader will try to view the repo with.  We have an open feature request to change this at https://bitbucket.org/site/master/issue/7239/allow-specifying-a-repositorys-encoding.  Please feel free to add any feedback, and/or vote for this feature.

Cheers,
Gary 

2 votes
Mauro Molinari May 14, 2015

Thank you Gary, I will monitor that ticket. This feature would be extremely useful, as UTF-8 is not the only encoding around sad

0 votes
Paul Sherman March 2, 2024

The answer Christopher gives is spot on. The problem with "unknown encoding" comes about when using Bitbucket online with slow internet connections -- such as mobile/cellular or ADSL. There is so much client-side activity, namely with google-analytics and cloudflare, that if you type the filename too fast, scripting code hasn't loaded yet to recognize the formats of the filename and/or extension you type.

Christopher (and, later, I) suggest this flow:
1. After selecting ... / Add file, wait a moment for page to load completeley
2. Delete any character(s) from the filename
3. Re-type the deleted characters

Root-cause fix: Please REMOVE all the google-analytics.