Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to get user email address using BitBucket API?

Ramesh Kannan March 23, 2016

I'm an administrator of a Bitbucket account. Under my account I've more than 50 repositories and 5 more groups. 

I'm using Bitbucket API to get list of open pull requests. I want to notify the reviewers to take necessary action on the OPEN pull request. For sending notification I need the reviewers email addresses, but I cannot find any API for getting email address from username.

Is it possible to get email addresses of user by using their username? 

4 answers

13 votes
Steven Combs January 14, 2019

This is a very basic repository administration feature that most teams want

5 votes
Vitaly Ketsenko February 14, 2019

This is so stupid, I added all users by emails - so I know emails, they have created accounts and now I can't see those emails, I have to ask each one what email did they use and some don't even remember, and of course it's hard to find it in chat with every user because I added them several months ago

Stephen Estrada March 12, 2020

+1

Like # people like this
Saurabh Vajpayee July 13, 2020

+1

Like Disruptive Effects likes this
1 vote
Alexandr Marchenko May 17, 2020

There is an workaround for those who also using jira

Here is a powershell snippet:

# bitbucket users
$org = "contoso"
$username = "username@contoso.com"
$password = "********************"
$headers = @{ Authorization = "Basic " + [Convert]::ToBase64String([Text.Encoding]::ASCII.GetBytes("$($username):$($password)")) }

$bitbucket = Invoke-RestMethod -Headers $headers -Uri "https://api.bitbucket.org/2.0/workspaces/$org/members?pagelen=100" | Select-Object -ExpandProperty values | Select-Object -ExpandProperty user | Select-Object display_name, nickname, account_id

# jira users
$org = "contoso"
$username = "username@contoso.com"
$password = "********************"