Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to delete a file/folder from Bitbucket repository?

eiger3970 May 9, 2014

Hi, I'm a Bitbucket noob and having a hard time getting started.

I'm trying to clean up the Bitbucket repository and my local git folder master and branch organisation.

My local computer's git folder has some folders deleted via Terminal $ rm -r folderName > $ git push.

Bitbucket repository still shows the folderName. How do I remove this?

I think part of the mess started with my local machine git cloning to the git folder which was in branch status and not master status?

10 answers

1 accepted

12 votes
Answer accepted
eiger3970 May 29, 2014

Ok, I figured out how to do it.

It seems you can't delete a remote file from a local command.

I went to the remote repository's website > Source > select branch > select folder > select file to be deleted > Edit > Delete > Commit.

seymourdatascience May 15, 2018

As far as I can tell, this doesn't work for folders - only files.

Like # people like this
qube90 September 18, 2018

This post worked for me. 

https://stackoverflow.com/questions/6313126/how-to-remove-a-directory-from-git-repository/6313301#6313301

The question should be: "How to delete folders/files with git?"

Not in bitbucket.

Like # people like this
Deleted user February 27, 2020

He is a beginner. You must to be comprehensive.

2 votes
Zul NS _Atlassian_
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
May 10, 2014
1 vote
Bhavya Sharma May 15, 2019

so my suggestions are: 

- move the file/folder you want to delete in your computer to another folder from your master folder...

then type on your terminal..

- git commit         ( this commits the changes like when you move the folder to another

destination, this will commit only the files or folders present in that master folder)

then ..