Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do you download sources for an older version ?

Eamonn Baker March 22, 2016

This question is in reference to Atlassian Documentation: Frequently Asked Questions

I am using Visual Studio 2013 to develop a VB .NET application. I am new to BitBucket .   I have project . The used called me he is using a version that is about 6 months old . He wants to make a small change to this version . The current version is not ready to be released to the user and there are now a lot of changes between the version the user is using and the current version . I have an BitBucket account so i logged in and I can identify the Commit for the version the customer is using .  I want to extract the project files with all the Commits  up to the Commit  for the version the customer is using . I am not sure how to do this . I would appreciate some advice on this point ,ideally a step by step procedure . 

1 answer

1 vote
Tim Crall
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
March 22, 2016

if you're using git on your end, then you already have a complete copy of the repository locally and you don't need to download anything special. You can set your working directory to the old version using git command line commands (or the equivalent steps in SourceTree or your IDE's git plugin)

You can just do 

git checkout <commit_id>

to set your working directory to the old version.  From there you should do

git checkout -b <branch_name>

to create a new branch to work on. 

When you're ready to return to your current version you can do

git checkout master

assuming your current version is on the master branch.

If you're not using git locally, what are you using on the client side for version control?

Eamonn Baker March 22, 2016