Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How 5 user limit works?

Zeeshan Haider December 6, 2017

Hi,

I'm new to Bitbucket and evaluating it for my project. Currently I have a very small team of 2-3 people and I'm fine with free plan of 5 users. However I have some questions. How does the 5 user limit works, is it per repository?

Let's say I have created two private repositories and gave users 1 and 2 access to repo 1 and users 3 and 4 to repo 2 respectively. Does it count as 3 users or have I reached the limit of 5 users? And in another scenario someone else created a repository and gave me access to it, will it also count in MY user limit overall or for the person that created the repository?

Another question, what if I revoke permissions for certain user, will it free up a user slot for the repository?

Thanks.

1 answer

1 accepted

8 votes
Answer accepted
Ana Retamal
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
December 7, 2017

(Note: edited message for clarification)

Hi Zeeshan! Bitbucket will count counts the number of users in total that have access to anything in your account. From your example:

Let's say I have created two private repositories and gave users 1 and 2 access to repo 1 and users 3 and 4 to repo 2 respectively.

In that case you're adding 'User1', 'User2', 'User3' and 'User4', so your account will have a total of 5 users (keep in mind you're counted as 1 user). Now let say that you create another repo 'Repo3' and grant access to it to 'User1', 'User3'; it still counts as 5 users in your account. Now you add a new user 'User5' and grant him access to 'Repo3'; you have 6 users now, you'll be exceeding the free plan.

what if I revoke permissions for certain user, will it free up a user slot for the repository?