Get the Stash repository name from the environment for use in a custom git hook?

Ronan Cunninghan September 23, 2013

We are currently using Git/Gitolite with an extensive range of GIT hooks written in Perl.

We are evaluating Stash but have some issues with trying to implement our existing hooks on stash managed repositories. I know there is a stash hook API but I'm not a developer and have no java experience, plus my existing hooks are tried and tested and do exactly what I need them to do.

I can get the user details from the REMOTE_USER variable and the hooks receive the normal STDIN from GIT.

The one thing that is missing is the repository name. If I printenv, i can see PWD set to a directory with a numeric name for my repository ../repositories/stash_home/data/repositories/37 but the mapping between the directory name and the repository name is I assume held internal to stash.

Is there a way to get the repository name without the hook API?

Seems a pretty basic thing not to have, though admittedly it always does when it is something you rely on.

thanks a lot.

3 answers

1 vote
cofarrell
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
September 23, 2013

Hi Ronan,

We generally try to encourage people to use our rich hook/plugin API. Unfortunately we realise that means it's a little more difficult to migrate actual 'scripts'.

If you just want the repository name then you can install a simple plugin I wrote that writes out the repository slug to a 'name' file within each repository (although it doesn't handle things like forks).

https://bitbucket.org/cofarrell/stash-example-reponame-plugin

Let me know if you have any questions/problems.

Just out of curiosity what kinds of hooks do you currently have?

Cheers,

Charles

0 votes
Ronan Cunninghan September 26, 2013

Hi Charles