Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Did a commit before I did a pull

psykojello July 26, 2014

I'm new to mercurial/git/sourcetree - I come from a perforce world, so the terminology is all alien to me. I'm hoping someone can help me with this problem.

I have a project hosted on a bitbucket mercurial repository. I'm using sourcetree as my client on my PC and on my Mac. A friend of mine is also working remotely on the same project.

I always first pull and then do a push and commit together so that the hosted repository is always current.

Here's the problem I run into. Sometimes I unwittingly press commit before remembering to do a pull. It turns out that my friend has submitted a change in that time and I have a new change to pull. So I end up with a branched changelist. Now I'm unable to push my changes anymore - it says: abort: "push creates new remote head (did you forget to merge? use push -f to force)"

What exactly am I supposed to merge? my changelist? My friend's changelist that got pulled?

Either way, I'm not able to merge my changes.

I can't reverse commit my changes either. None of those options work for me.

My question probably makes no sense to anyone else, so please let me know if I can explain myself better :)

1 answer

1 accepted

4 votes
Answer accepted
Seth
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
July 27, 2014

This is a typical situation during any type of collaborative development. Before I explain the way forward, I want to point out that your typical workflow (make changes, pull, commit+push) is going to cause a different set of problems if the pull contains changes to a file you've modified locally. The best solution in that case is to do what you're doing now (make changes, commit, pull+merge, push).