Build-test-deploy of a docker container in a bitbucket pipeline

plussier February 15, 2022

Hi all,

I'm trying to set up a bitbucket pipeline for a docker container. Like any software project, I want the basic pipeline process to be

On feature branches:

- Build the container

- Test the container (use it in a step?)

And on merge to the develop branch:

- Build the container (unless there's a better way!)

- Test

- Tag and push

For release and master branches, I'd like to be able to simply promote the most recent versions from the previous level; i.e. develop-> release, and release -> master.

However, I'm wondering if there's also a need to at some point delete entire images and/or tags as well. And if so, where does that fit in and what is the best way to accomplish that? Custom scripts around the Docker registry API ?

I'm very new to building/maintaining docker images and repositories, and the Docker Hub docs are not overly helpful with how to set up a proper pipeline process.

Any help/advice/pointers would be greatly appreciated!

Additionally:

How do you build a container in one step, and then use that container in the next step?

This seems pretty straight-forward, until names and tags on container images a built using dynamic variables...  For example, the following can't possibly work, because the image name I want to pull is dependent upon evaluating variables set in a script which hasn't been called yet.

definitions:
script: &setVars
export RELEASE="1.2.3";
export PACKAGE="my-docker";
if [[ ${BITBUCKET_BRANCH} =~ ^develop ]]; then REPO_MATURITY=dev; fi;
if [[ ${BITBUCKET_BRANCH} =~ ^release ]]; then REPO_MATURITY=rc; fi;
if [[ ${BITBUCKET_TAG} =~ ^[0-9]\.[0-9]\.[0-9] ]]; then REPO_MATURITY=released; fi;
export REPO_MATURITY;
export DOCKER_REG="myreg"
export DOCKER_REPO="${DOCKER_REG}/${PACKAGE}"
export DOCKER_TAG="${DOCKER_REPO}:${RELEASE}-${REPO_MATURITY}"
export AWS_CLI_PROFILE=etq-development;

script: &docker_login