Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bitbucket login without 2FA code

Justin Gocks January 14, 2018

Hello to everyone,

Unfortunately i was forced to factory reset my phone and i didn't export my 2FA codes before hand.

I also have not saved my recovery codes or simply cannot find them.

From reading the docs i understand that if i have an SSH key i can still get my recovery codes through the

ssh git@bitbucket.org recovery_codes

command.

However i am quite new to git in general and have also been using the git client GitKracken (Linked to bitbucket).

Now, when i run the command from my terminal i get the

Error: Permission denied (publickey)

error, but my client is still connected to bitbucket and i can push/pull and clone just as before.

From my understanding, if GitKracken is connected to bitbucket then it must have saved an authorized SSH key somewhere and i should find that key and move it to my home/.ssh/ folder.
Is this correct or am i missing something obvious?

Any help would be appreciated because (client aside) i am locked out of my account.

Thanks a great lot to everyone!

2 answers

0 votes
Erica K February 1, 2018

And this is exactly the uselessness of 2FA for Bitbucket, because every other paid vendor provides some recovery option, even if by postal mail, in cases like this.

Ana Retamal
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
February 2, 2018

Hi Erika, I've never heard of postal mail being an option. As is the standard, we provide 3 ways of obtaining a code:

1. Authenticator apps.
  2. Recovery Codes.
  3. SSH Recovery.

These options are widely used across different companies (Github and Google for example) and its advantages and risks are listed in many articles, like Don't get locked out when using 2FA.