Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bitbucket clone to Sourcetree, repeatedly asking for password

nunataq January 14, 2018

I am completely new to Bitbucket and Sourcetree. I am added in a repository by my college, when I log into Bitbucket I find it there with all necessary files. I would like to clone it, so i can work with it on my laptop, so I drag it from the website to the Sourcetree window and get requested Source URL, Destination path and Name. Here the problems start, I get repeatedly asked for password, but the password is correct. Do someone have any suggestions? I am running OS X El Capitan Version 10.11.6

Thank you!

2 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Ana Retamal
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
January 15, 2018

Hi! My recommendation would be that you connect your Bitbucket account to Sourcetree following the steps at Connect your Bitbucket account, so it doesn't ask you for authentication anymore. 

It would also be worth it to check that there are no previous incorrect passwords, both in Sourcetree and in the Keychain.

Hope that helps!

Ana

nunataq January 15, 2018

Thanks, unfortunately I still got the following message: 

This is not an valid source path / URL 

after repeatedly asking for password. 

nunataq January 15, 2018

Now it's working, didn't know what solved it in the end though. 

Ana Retamal
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
January 16, 2018

Glad to hear you got it sorted at the end :) Have a good day!

Ana

Anibal Duardo January 22, 2018

I have the same problem.

After updating to 2.7 (152) on Mac. I use BitBucket repositories and self hosted repositories with GitLab. After downgrading to 2.6.3 I can use again the repos.