Automatic Merge Not Working

Ji Yong Park January 12, 2018

As a user of Atlassian BitBucket server, I was looking into the automatic merging feature you guys have built in. It definitely was something I was looking for, so tried to use it, but had no luck.

I have a master (prod), develop, release/1.0, and release/2.0 branches. I made changes to release/1.0 and created a pull request to merge it to develop branch. By enabling automatic merge, I would expect it to merge the changes to release/2.0 as well, but it won't. Same goes for the case if I create a pull request from release/1.0 to master. It will only merge down to develop and not to the release branch.

Could anyone help me out? I am using 4.9.1 of BitBucket.

Thank you!

2 answers

1 vote
Ana Retamal
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
January 29, 2018

Hi Ji! There should be more than 3 branches and should be in sequences. All the branches should have their own update from the previous version. They should look like this:

• release/1.0
  • release/2.0
  • release/2.1

• release/2.2

Also keep in mind that auto-merge does not work in backward manner, only sequence upwards.

If that still doesn't work for you, you can try naming the branches using semantic versioning, this means they need to have major, minor and patch positions. 

Let us know if this helped you!

Best regards,

Ana

Ji Yong Park January 31, 2018

Hello Ana,

Thank you for taking the time to answer the question. I really appreciate it.

I have tried with 3 release branches as you said, but still get no cascading merges happening. In my example, I have release/2.0, release/2.1, release/2.2. I tried merging the pull request from release/2.0 into develop, which did not trigger any downstream merges.

Also wasn't sure if having 3 branches was a requirement in the documentation, and why it would be one. Could you explain to me why that is the case?

Thank you!