What is your #1 piece of advice to new users getting started using Bitbucket?

Claire Maynard
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
August 10, 2018

Hello Community!

My name is Claire Maynard, and I’m a Product Marketing Manager on the Bitbucket team. I’m interested in hearing what advice or tips you have for new users getting started on Bitbucket. Based on your answers, we will release a digest of the top tips and send contributors some Community swag :). Can’t wait to hear your thoughts! 

Thanks!

10 comments

Craig Castle-Mead August 10, 2018

Users as in end users, not admins I'm guessing?

CCM

Bridget
Community Manager
Community Managers are Atlassian Team members who specifically run and moderate Atlassian communities. Feel free to say hello!
August 10, 2018

Either or, Craig! Just be sure to state which users you're personally referring to. 

Ulrich Kuhnhardt [IzymesDev]
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
August 11, 2018

Server or Cloud?

Bridget
Community Manager
Community Managers are Atlassian Team members who specifically run and moderate Atlassian communities. Feel free to say hello!
August 13, 2018

Either / or! Just specify which you're specific tip is referring to. Thanks @Ulrich Kuhnhardt [IzymesDev]

jredmond
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
August 14, 2018

That actually leads to an excellent piece of advice:

Understand which version of Bitbucket you're using.

Bitbucket Cloud is bitbucket.org, which Atlassian hosts. Bitbucket Server is self-hosted and has a different URL (and a version number). They have separate documentation on confluence.atlassian.com, and they may not have the same features or bugs.

ic2 August 13, 2018