Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to notify Microsoft Teams from Bitbucket Pipeline?

inger_klekacz January 29, 2021

Hey there, I'm new to Bitbucket Pipelines, and am trying to see if I can duplicate my Jenkins pipelines' functionality with a pipeline on Bitbucket.

I've got a pipeline running, but I can't seem to get it to notify us when it's finished running.

Here's what I'm trying to do: update a Teams channel when a pipeline build has started or completed. When it's completed, I'd like to post its build status. That's it. Nothing fancy.

Here's as far as I've gotten:

1. created an internal webhook in my Teams channel
  2. set up a webhook in my repo in my-repo> Settings > Webhooks using the URL generated in step 1. chose ""Build status created" and "Build Status updated" as the Triggers"
  3. Made a change on a branch of my-repo and pushed the change up
  4. Watched the build start and finish
  5. Watched no notifications come into the Teams channel.

Any ideas what steps I might be missing? I'm on Bitbucket Cloud, btw.

5 answers

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
inger_klekacz February 1, 2021

I found the solution myself, albeit a very basic one: set this up as an item in the "script" portion of after-script:

- curl -H "Content-Type: application/json" -d "{'text':'Hello World'}" https://<WEBHOOK URL> 

Here's why I got snagged up: I was following the Microsoft docs  for formatting the -d argument, but was getting a linting error in 'text': 'Hello World' because VS Code's linter, the Redhat YAML extension, was seeing the space after the colon in that payload and was barking about me trying to submit YAML. I removed the space, the barking stopped, the notification happened. 

Now I get to go down the fun rabbit hole of string interpolation and passing variables inside single quotes, which bash hates.

Shreyank Sharma December 30, 2021

Update: Thank you @inger_klekacz the issue was with space after "Content-Type: