Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to build a repository which is depending on another repository

Raymond Lee February 27, 2018

Hi all,

I have very little experience in using bamboo and really hope to get some hints on the question I am facing.

I have one system which splits into two respositories in stash, let's say project A and B and B requires the jar/classes built from project A to complete it build process. In project B pom.xml, it states the dependency 

<dependency>
<groupId>com.project.A</groupId>
<artifactId>ProjectA</artifactId>
<version>1.0.0-SNAPSHOT</version>

and when running maven on project A, we need to run "clean install" instead of "clean package" such that project B can access the project A binary. 

I found that it makes our build not easy to manage and I think there should be other way that Project A produces jar/classes binaryin one respostory and project B can get this binary into its build process. But I still cannot find out a way in bamboo how to achieve this purpose.

Can some of you share your experience in such build process scenario ? 

I look at some artices in web and still cannot get it work in bamboo.

Do I need to remove the dependency in project B and direct reference to the jar in build process ? 

If any of you can show me the way, I will be very appreciated your help.

Please kindly help

Thanks fo ryour kind attention,

Ray

1 answer

0 votes
Gabriel Ribeiro
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
April 26, 2018

Hi Ray, 

I'm not sure if I understood it correctly but, have you tried to make the jars produced by the Proj A available as artifacts and then download them during the Proj B build process?

Another thing that you could try is to create a local maven repository and add the jar files produced by Proj A there using a solution described in the following StackOverflow thread: