Child plans are using improper artifacts when specifying a branch

Guillaume des Pommare September 22, 2015

Hello,

I am experiencing issues, as a bamboo user (Atlassian Bamboo version 5.8.1 build 5866) with dependencies between plan.

Let's say  I have a stash repo with one master branch , one develop branch. I have a given plan with default branch master and plan branch develop named "M".

I also configured two dependent plans C1 and C2. Both are working with same stash repository. C1 is only working with master branch. C2 is working with develop branch. (Plan configuration / repo / branch, and no plan branch).

What I would expect: if M is built with plan branch master, the C1 is triggered. If M is built with plan branch develop, the C2 is triggered.

What I can see: this is the case, but the artifacts which are used are incorrect.

M <-> C1 is okay. When a change occurs on master, M is built, artifact are created. Then C1 is triggered, the artifacts coming from master are used by C1 

M <-> C2 is not okay. When a change occurs on develop, M is built, artifact are created. Then C2 is triggered,  the artifacts coming from master are used by C2 (instead of the one previously built).

Dependency configuration is:

Could it be a bad configuration ? Or maybe a bug ?

Thanks for your help. Regards,

Guillaume 

2 answers

0 votes
Guillaume des Pommare September 22, 2015

There is no option to select a branch. From what I can understand (coming from documentation and jira) artifact download tries to match the plan branch with the parent branch. If there is a match, then this artifact is taken, if not, then the one from default branch is taken.

I can't find in UI any place where you can specify a branch in artifact download job.

0 votes
Jobin Kuruvilla [Adaptavist]
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.