Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bamboo: how to find if any build agent is running from script

Ninad Gawade December 21, 2016

I am relatively new to Bamboo engine. I am writing a script to blow away a cache on each build agent. However, before blowing away cache, I need to check if any build agent is performing any build. If yes, then my script will wait till it finished its job else it will straight away remove cache. Not sure how to check build-agents status from scripts.

Thanks.

2 answers

0 votes
Ninad Gawade December 21, 2016

Hello Rafael,

Thanks for responding. I am aware of the options you have provided in your response. These options will clear cache for all my builds. However, I need to do the clear my cache (or any other directory) only on certain event which I am going to control using a script. 

Please find the snapshot herein to give you a better idea about my implementation. The highlighted line is the place where I need to check if my agent is currently idle or its working.

Just to give you a brief idea about this implementation: I have 10 build agents and on certain events, I need to clear sstate_cache ( other directories) from all the existing build agents. However, I need to make sure I am cleaning build agent only if the build agent is ideal at that time else I will wait till it get ideal.

Screen Shot 2016-12-21 at 2.52.02 PM.png

rsperafico
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
December 21, 2016

If you are running a build against those 10 Bamboo agents, builds will only run if the the agent is available, otherwise will be sitting on queue. Once their are taken from queue, you could add a Script task to be executed as the first thing in the JOB to delete the caching you are referring to.

You could also run the following REST API call: