Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Atlassian Support Engineer Rodrigo Martinez on why ACE's are the best place to start speaking

Hi, Speaker Bench!

I'm excited to continue our Atlassian Speaker Bench series with my colleague @Rodrigo Martinez, whom you may know from posts in our community, such as Be gentle and kind to your users, and JAUS - Jira Admin Userscripts.

I'm excited for him to share how his path to the Atlassian Universe began with a gleam and how he uses his experience to live out Be the Change you Seek.

RodrigoUpdated.jpg

Hi Rodrigo! Tell us about yourself in a few sentences.

• I was born in Brazil on '82 and used to play D&D with my friends on the emergency stairways during class-breaks at school. đŸ˜‚
  • I graduated in Computer Science in '04 and worked as a developer (Java), then acted as Scrum Master, Release Coordinator then as Product Owner. On '15 I moved to another company and became an Atlassian Admin and it was wonderful. I was so excited to come up with solutions and easily implement them that I decided to focus on the “Atlassian universe” for my career.
  • My hobbies include Scuba Diving (PADI Divemaster), drawing and playing games on the PC — RPG being my favorite, still. I started practicing bow shooting but moved to a town that does’t have an archery school. I’m very proficient at starting things and never finishing them. If procrastination was a thing, I’d have an extensive collection of trophies on it. đŸ˜›

What do you do at Atlassian? What has your path been into this role, and how do you use public speaking skills in your role?

I’m a Premier Support Engineer for Jira DC. I switched to the career of Support Engineer to work here! I now have the habit of providing screen-shares whenever possible and always keep my camera on. It helps to establish rapport to customers.

Have you always been good at public speaking or speaking in front of groups? Why or why not?