An exciting journey about Atlassian Cloud Migration

Pushpkant Garg July 23, 2021

Hello Everyone, 

I am Pushpkant, I am an Atlassian Consultant at Modus Create. I have helped numerous organisations successfully migrate to Atlassian Cloud. Last month, we migrated one of our clients from Data Center to Jira Cloud. It was a long journey for us where we had many rounds of discussion with the stakeholders explaining them the nietigirites of the migration and had to explain them the challenges in this activity. Since it was a large enterprise the complexity of the project was extreme. Here are more details:

• Company & your role: Modus Create, Atlassian Consultant
  • Size of your company: 500 (Customer Size: more than 5000 users)
  • Atlassian products your team uses? Jira Software, Jira Work Management,  Confluence, Bitbucket (User by Customer)
  • Which teams use Atlassian products - dev, non-dev, both? Both
  • Integrations or key apps? : GitHub, BitBucket, UCD, Clockify, Service Now, Smartsheets

Now to the good stuff…. (pick and choose here - these are prompts to get you started!)

• What surprised you most about the migration to cloud?: Use of JMCA app which made the migration process really easy. It helped in migrating the data in Phased manner rather than doing the lift and shift method. 
  • What technical a-ha moment helped you get across the finish line?:
    • Migrated the data with minimum (or no) data loss
    • Migrated all the Tempo Data without any data loss to cloud
    • Links between Jira and Confluence were retained
    • Links between Jira and Bitbucket commits were also retained
  • What advice would you give other customers starting a migration? What do you wish you’d known?: 
    • Strategise the migration in such a way that you have enough time for validation and testing.
    • Contact Atlassian as early as possible
    • If you have large data and complex configuration, do consider having support from an Atlassian Solutions partner.