Long-time listener - first time caller

Stuart Capel - London
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
August 19, 2020

New to answering - are there any rules or guidance to keep in mind?

I've been working with Atlassian products for 2 years and find real world issues to resolve is helping me prepare for the Jira Cloud Admin exam.

2 comments

Comment

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
August 19, 2020

You can probably guess a lot of them as you've wandered around the Community in the past, but I would certainly open the "featured" articles from https://community.atlassian.com/t5/Welcome-Center/gp-p/WelcomeCenter , and skim them for things you have not already worked out!

I know exactly what you mean about real-world experience. I had an exam coming up and I had revised a block of stuff I was not that familiar with, but the exam covered.  I thought I knew it. 

An opportunity came up related to it, and as I'm in a senior position, I was able to get it allocated to my squad because "one of my consultants is learning about it" (The others did not need to know it was me).

If I had not grabbed that, and learned from a real-world case just before the exam, I'm 95% sure I would have failed.

Like Stuart Capel - London likes this
Paul Wright August 20, 2020

In my humble opinion, the responses you offer should be relevant to multiple audiences.

Keeping everything in 'Matrix code', which only an Uber Tech would understand would alienate the less technical or lay person that needs some simple help.