Knowledge Base launch advice

Ionut September 14, 2020

Hi again guys,

As I'm working on a Confluence Knowledge Base the final launch is approaching quickly.

I am supposed to present the new platform to my department (40~ people) that currently don't know what I'm working on. 

Does anyone have any advice on how should I approach this? Because they're aged between 21 to 25 and just finished their studies I don't want them to think that this will be another "boring and useless corp platform", I want them to like it because it facilitates their work and helps them save time. Beside useful operational information it will contain, it will also have integrations with Jira, like new Bugs alert, new Stories notifications and Statistics.

P.S. It's my first product launch and I am somehow unsure of how this will go. Also I have never worked on Confluence before. I've been working on this Knowledge Base alone.

Ionut

8 comments

Comment

Simon Teppett September 15, 2020

I would consider creating some default structure before you launch otherwise your users will create their own structure which can Best wishes pretty random

Like Ionut likes this
Julius Zatroch September 15, 2020

Are you using only plain Confluence or any theme add-on too?

Ionut September 15, 2020

Hi @Julius Zatroch ,

I'm using the plain one.

Julius Zatroch September 15, 2020

Hi @Ionut 

If you can, please test some theme addon. There are more on Marketplace, but I can really recommend Linchpin Intranet or cheaper Linchpin Essentials. It will add Navigation menu and change whole Confluence to nice and modern intranet. As you write, you will present Confluence to young people... They are expecting something modern, visually nice and clean.  With Linchpin Intranet you can even add mobile app, news and Microbloging, so people will work with Confluence at own phones too.

If you are interested, write me and we can arrange some demo for you.

Like Ionut likes this
Ionut September 18, 2020