Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Subtask-to-Parent Commenting

eagles_losers October 17, 2012

JIRA Version: 4.4 (soon upgrading to 5)

Thank you for reading / considering this...

We have the desire to do either of the following (preferring the first - copy - method):

• Automatically, each time, copy a user created subtask comment into a parent comment

... OR ...

• Block / forbid users from entering subtask comments (forcing comments only at the parent level)

I have some experience with Groovy -- based on Jamie Echlin's years of guidance and mastery of JIRA, although writing / editing classes is something I am currently unable to grasp.

Thanks again for your consideration.

8 answers

1 accepted

Comments for this post are closed

Community moderators have prevented the ability to post new answers.

Post a new question

7 votes
Answer accepted
Henning Tietgens
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
October 18, 2012

Save this code to ...atlassian-jira/WEB-INF/classes/SubtaskCommentListener.groovy:

import com.atlassian.jira.ComponentManager
import com.atlassian.jira.event.issue.AbstractIssueEventListener
import com.atlassian.jira.event.issue.IssueEvent
import com.atlassian.jira.issue.Issue
import com.atlassian.jira.issue.comments.Comment
import com.atlassian.jira.issue.comments.CommentManager
import org.apache.log4j.Category

class SubtaskCommentListener extends AbstractIssueEventListener {
    Category log = Category.getInstance(SubtaskCommentListener.class)
    CommentManager commentManager = ComponentManager.instance.commentManager

@Override
    void workflowEvent(IssueEvent event) {
        // only one central way...
        this.customEvent(event)
    }

@Override
    void customEvent(IssueEvent event) {
        // set explicit to debug