Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Restrict type of subtask that can be created for a given parent type

Chris Bland December 17, 2014

Hi, I'm fairly new at this. There seem to be a variety of approaches - some guidance as to what would be best would very helpful.

This is for a plugin we are developing. We have two custom issue types, A and B (a subtask).

A will only have subtasks of type B. Equally, type B subtasks will only be able to have a parent of type A.

I would like us to be able to restrict the creation of subtasks, to achieve this.

Preferably, in the Create Subtask Issue Type dropdown, I would like to get rid of all other choices. 

However, if I have to use validation, then a message telling the user to pick another type, this would be OK.

Has anyone got some thoughts on the best way to achieve this?

Many thanks.

2 answers

Comments for this post are closed

Community moderators have prevented the ability to post new answers.

Post a new question

0 votes
BenP
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
July 29, 2015

See https://jira.atlassian.com/browse/JRA-7990, where Denis Yaparov has provided a nice solution via (script runner) simple validation on Create issue transition's validator event

This simple scripted validator on Create transition in sub-issue workflow could do required check:

["Task", "Bug"].contains(issue.parentObject?.issueTypeObject.name)

0 votes
Bob Swift OSS (Bob Swift Atlassian Apps)
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
December 18, 2014