Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

JIRA Service Desk Configuration

David Mora August 22, 2014

Hello,

I am new to JIRA and I have spend a few days reading through the documentation trying to figure out how to configure the Service Desk to my needs. Unfortunately, I have run into a wall that I can't seem to get passed. I need to set up the Service Desk such that there are different queues that will belong to different teams. Each team(queue) will be completely isolated from each other such that no one from queue A can see tickets(Issues) that belong to queue B and vice versa. I tried to implement this but making different issue types that correspond to the different queues but those issues(tickets) are still viewable by everyone who has access to the project(service desk). I tried to fix this by adding a security level to all the queues so that the tickets would only be seen by those given access to that security level. At this point I found another problem with the configuration.

In my environment, the different teams need to be able to transfer tickets between each other so having security levels won't suffice. Queue A won't be able to set the security level to that of "Queue B" because they don't have access to Security level "Queue B". I was trying to change the security level of tickets to effectively "transfer" tickets between the different queues.

Another problem is that the issues cannot be given security levels by default. For this solution to work I would need someone to be adding the security levels to each issue as they are created. Can this be fixed?