I am unable to set Summary Field default value.

Javier March 16, 2012

Hi everyone,

I need to hide the Summary field... and I finally did it by taking it out from the specific Screens.

Unfortunately, system still asks me for a value in this field.

I have tried to set the following javascript code in Summary description (Field configuration):

<script type="text/javascript">
if (document.getElementById("summary").value == "") {
document.getElementById("summary").value = "Some Information:\n";
}
</script>

I have even reindexed and restarted Jira in order to this modifications to be taken into account, with no effects.

Can anyone help me with this issue?

Thank you.

Javier.

Notes:

a) I am using Jira 4.4

b) I cannot access the local system, so I cannot change any JIRA file from my location.

c) I am used to managing Jira from a functional view, but I am a newbie in programming Jira. I can only set javascript and so on.

:)

6 answers

1 accepted

Comments for this post are closed

Community moderators have prevented the ability to post new answers.

Post a new question

3 votes
Answer accepted
Jobin Kuruvilla [Adaptavist]
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
March 16, 2012

If you added the script in the description of summary field and summary is not on screens, the Javascript will not be invoked. Try adding the Javascript under the description of a field that is on the screen.

Javier March 16, 2012

Hi Jobin,

I will make this field visible again and put a dummy content as "You can also write here.", and I will tell you the results.

Thank you for your quick answer.

Javier.

Dawn Fama February 4, 2019

If you add this javascript for the system summary field, will it affect all projects summary field, or is it specific per project?

1 vote
JörgS December 19, 2016