Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to grab Attachment ID on Issue Page using JS?

Anthony Madrigal March 31, 2014

I am using an ajax call to whose url needs the attachment id. I am using a hardcoded url right now which is url: AJS.contextPath()+"/rest/api/latest/attachment/10415"

jQuery.ajax({
		url: AJS.contextPath()+"/rest/api/latest/attachment/10415",
		TYPE: "GET",
		//dataType: "application/json",
		dataType: "text",
		success: function(data){
			console.log("Success");
		},
		error: function(data){
			console.error("Error with attachments");
		},
	}).done(function(data){

console.log("Done with greying attachments");
	});

So this only works for the attachment with id 10415. I was thinking of making 2 ajax calls, the above one being the second. And the first having a url of AJS.contextPath()+"/rest/api/latest/issue/${issueId} which returns the content url of the above ajax call.

I am new to ajax so I am not sure if this will work. Also, should the dataType be "text" or "application/json"?

2 answers

1 accepted

Comments for this post are closed

Community moderators have prevented the ability to post new answers.

Post a new question

1 vote
Answer accepted
Boris Georgiev _Appfire_
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
March 31, 2014

The first should have dataType "application/json" Tand from the returned json object you can get the attachment id, so you can later pass it to the second ajax call. You have to make the second call in the success method of the first and to get the attachment url you can call var url = data.attachment[0].self.

Something like:

jQuery.ajax({
    url: AJS.contextPath()+"/rest/api/2/issue/MKT-2",
    dataType: "application/json",    
			jQuery.ajax({
				url: data.attachment[0].self,
					console.log("Success");
				},
				}