How to detect if a field value was changed

Guilherme Nogueira
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
January 21, 2015

Hi guys,

I want to know how can I check if a field value was changed, i.e:

CustomField1 has value "21/01/2015" (DateField), and the user changed to "20/01/2015".

I want to execute a postfunction only if user change the field value, I'm using "Only if condition is true" and groovy.

I'm studying about  "transientVars" but no success yet.

The postfunction is: "Transition linked issues"

Thank you guys

4 answers

1 accepted

Comments for this post are closed

Community moderators have prevented the ability to post new answers.

Post a new question

4 votes
Answer accepted
JamieA
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
January 21, 2015

For a post-function condition you want something like this:

import com.atlassian.jira.component.ComponentAccessor
import com.atlassian.jira.issue.Issue

Issue issue = issue

def customFieldManager = ComponentAccessor.getCustomFieldManager()
def issueManager = ComponentAccessor.getIssueManager()
def customField = customFieldManager.getCustomFieldObjectByName("Some Date")
def originalIssue = issueManager.getIssueObject(issue.id)

return issue.getCustomFieldValue(customField) != originalIssue.getCustomFieldValue(customField)

This is only going to work if your post-function is first, or at least before the system post-functions that store the issue.

Sascha's answer is for listeners.

Guilherme Nogueira
Rising Star
Rising Star
January 21, 2015