Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to check whether a user is an administrator in Connect?

Adrien Ragot 2
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
October 26, 2016

As an add-on developer, I want to let Confluence Cloud administrator edit the settings of my add-on if, and only if, they are administrators.

Is there any REST request I can perform to know whether they are admin? Among the ones I've seen in the documentation, there only hacks are available:

• Check whether the user belongs to a group, assuming "administrators" will always contain the list of instance administrators (which is far from correct),
  • Trying to create a space – If successful, the user is admin.

A normal request at https://myinstance.atlassian.net/wiki/rest/api/user?username=test1 doesn't return the permissions:

{
type: "known",
username: "test1",
userKey: "ff808081400000000fe0f0e0ff",
profilePicture: {path: "/wiki/images/icons/profilepics/default.png",width: 48,height: 48,isDefault: true},
displayName: "Test 1 [Administrator]",
_links: {self: "https://playsql.atlassian.net/wiki/rest/experimental/user?key=ff808081400000000fe0f0e0ff"},
_expandable: {details: ""}
}

Thank you

1 answer

1 accepted

Comments for this post are closed

Community moderators have prevented the ability to post new answers.

Post a new question

0 votes
Answer accepted
Stephen Deutsch
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
October 27, 2016