Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Do curly braces in string macro parameters break the macro?

rworgul April 3, 2014

Hello everyone,

i recently developed a confluence plugin which adds some xhtml macros. I just wondered how the image macro preview (while editing a page) is errornous or even fails rendering with a null pointer exception if you write something like {} in your string macro parameters. The final rendered macro would be ok, as seen in MacroBrowser or if you just view the page.

I started playing around, trying to find my mistake and discovered that it seems like this behavior hasn't anything to do with my plugin. I can simply reproduce it in several Confluence versions on different servers:

• 5.4.4 for development (atlas-run),
  • 5.4.4 normal Confluence on another server,
  • 5.4.3 normal Confluence on root server,
  • 5.3.1 atlas-run

To reproduce it you can use the Panel macro:

1. add Panel macro
  2. write "world" in body
  3. edit macro in MacroBrowser
  4. type "hello" in title
  5. save (-> everything works)
    working panel
  6. edit again in MacroBrowser
  7. append "{}" to "hello" -> "hello{}"
  8. save (-> will show a blank )
    error on panel

... or the Gallery macro, which is nearly the same procedure but with the difference, that it will cause an heavy error and won't render at all:

1. add Gallery macro
  2. edit macro in MacroBrowser
  3. type "hello" in title param
  4. save (-> works)
    working gallery
  5. edit in MacroBrowser again
  6. append "{}" to "hello" -> "hello{}"
  7. save (-> gets stuck loading with all controls disabled)
    gallery produces errors

It won't break if you escape the curly braces with \{ and \}, but I dont think you have to?! E.g. the Gallery macro would render something like this if you escape the curly braces within the macro properties:

gallery macro with escaped curly braces in title