Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Do I need to rebuild JIRA from source if I write a Seraph custom authenticator?

Sameera Shaakunthala [inactive]
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
May 29, 2013

I'm looking at the possibility of writing my own custom authenticator for Seraph. However, I'm not sure which way to follow.

1. Do I need to download the JIRA source code and rebuild it?
  2. Can I just rebuild Seraph and replace existing Seraph in 'atlassian-jira/WEB-INF/lib'?
  3. How do I prepare my developer environment if I am to modify Seraph? For JIRA everything is documented here.

I'm a newbie developer.

7 answers

1 accepted

Comments for this post are closed

Community moderators have prevented the ability to post new answers.

Post a new question

1 vote
Answer accepted
Timothy
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
May 29, 2013

No. You do not need to rebuild JIRA.

https://confluence.atlassian.com/display/DEV/Single+Sigon+Integration+with+JIRA+and+Confluence

Funny thing, I just finished one similar thing yesterday. :)

Sameera Shaakunthala [inactive]
Rising Star
Rising Star
May 30, 2013

Thanks for the answer. I read the article again carefully. Looks like I do not have to do any of those I have mentioned. As far as I understand, it's not a plug-in but I need to create it on my own and deploy it to the mentioned location. Am I correct?

Also, how do I prepare the development environment?

Timothy
Rising Star
Rising Star
May 30, 2013