Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can you close a ticket using the API?

djlabowski September 27, 2011

Hello all. I am new to Jira. I have a client who uses Jira. They would like their CMS to close a ticket when the CMS publishes a particular peice of content. At a high level what I'm thinking is that in the CMS they will input the id of the Jira ticket and then on the published event I will programmatically close the ticket.

My question is A) is this possible? B) Can you direct me to the correct API's and code examples???

Thank you very much!

5 answers

Comments for this post are closed

Community moderators have prevented the ability to post new answers.

Post a new question

1 vote
Wojciech Seliga
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
September 27, 2011

You can also close issues using JIRA REST API - http://docs.atlassian.com/jira/REST/latest/#id2474418

Transitioning issues via REST is support IIRC since 4.2.

And definitely REST is the way to go for the future. SOAP won't be enhanced in the future versions of JIRA, the focus is put entirely on REST.

REST tutorial is located here.

You may also consider using JIRA REST Java client (if you CMS uses or can easily use Java).

1 vote
Ivar
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
September 27, 2011

This is possible; have a look at this page: