Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Access to JIRA variables in Velocity Template file

Quentin Genies April 13, 2013

Hello.

I am quite new to JIRA development and after days of searching the forums and JIRA Documentation, I have been unable to find any help.

What I want to achieve is retrieving information from my JIRA instance on "Create Issue" screen (especially User Properties and User Role on a Project) in my Velocity Template file (to store them in a hidden text HTML tag), and being able to use them through JavaScript. All of this to make a JavaScript run through a CustomField plugin described below in xml.

<customfield-type name="Working Custom Field JS" i18n-name-key="working-custom-field-js.name" key="working-custom-field-js" class="com.atlassian.tutorial2.jira.customfields.WorkingCustomFieldJS">
    <description key="working-custom-field-js.description">Working Custom Field</description>
	<resource type="velocity" name="edit" location="templates/plugins/fields/edit/edit-hiddenjs.vm"/>
  </customfield-type>

I only succeeded in getting Project attributes.

Is there anywhere I can find which variables are available to Velocity Templates?

Am I doing it the right way?

#disable_html_escaping() TODO REENABLE
#customControlHeader ($action $customField.id $customField.name $fieldLayoutItem.required $displayParameters $auiparams)

<input class="text" type="hidden" id="currentProject" value="$issue.getProject().getString("name")" />
	## or
	##<input class="text" type="hidden" id="currentProject" value="$!issue.projectObject.name" />

#customControlFooter ($action $customField.id $fieldLayoutItem.fieldDescription $displayParameters $auiparams)

I am using JIRA 5.1 by the way.

Thank you.

2 answers

1 accepted

Comments for this post are closed

Community moderators have prevented the ability to post new answers.

Post a new question

8 votes
Answer accepted
Quentin Genies April 22, 2013

Answered by Nic Brough.

0 votes