cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Jira seems to use a old (cached?) velocity template of my plugin

Carsten A.
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
March 17, 2013

Hello,

I am a jira plugin developer in our company. I wrote a new web panel viewable on the issue details page.
Btw the jar file of the plugin is created via buildforge, which adds a unique incremental build number to each release version in the pom and to the filename. (Just to let you know that I am sure I used the correct and same plugin version.)

Two builds ago I fixed an error in which I renamed/changed a single velocity parameter: "$urlPath" --> "${contextPath}". This parameter is used to provide correct image urls regardless of Jira build/install/environment paths.
On my local development instance everything works as expected - the urls are correctly resolved - the images are correctly shown.
We have a "playground", which is (kind of) a mirror of our production jira, where we can test everything under actual conditions. There the panel works as expected - the images are shown.

After confirming the functionality on our "playground", the plugin was installed on our production Jira. And there the panel was not shown correctly. I don't know why, but the old velocity parameter ("$urlPath") is still used (I know that because this variable is written as string to the image path, which can be viewed using firebug). So the images are not shown at all.

All plugins on playground- and production-jira are the same version. There is at least one difference:
Our production jiras version is 5.0.2 whereas on playground we already have 5.2.7 (because we plan upgrading jira and do compatiblity verification on playground first). (My local dev jira is 5.0.2 as well.)