Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I define custom swimlanes for a kanban board?

Dave Hearne February 19, 2013

I would like to define two swimlanes on my kanban board based upon whether they task is currently being worked on or is ready for the next step in the workflow. I don't see a way to do that easily, which is odd since that shoudl be a key componenet of a kanban board.

I would appreciate it if any answers went ahead and made teh assumption that I am a clueless manager-type and I have zero knowledge of JQL.

Thanks in Advance!

8 answers

1 accepted

Suggest an answer

1 vote
Answer accepted
Dave Hearne February 20, 2013

I figured it out. It's not exactly what I wanted, but is serviceable and did not require a billion workflow adjustments to make it work. All I had to do was add a select-list custom field to the screens, and then set up swimlanes that filter based upon that field. This way the Assignee can change the value of the custom field when they are done working on it to "ready", which moves it down into the "Ready" swimlane and it can be picked up by the person working the next step.

It really works very well. The only improvement would be to allow an assignee to change the "Condition" (that's what I named the field) in the details window off to the right of the board directly rather than having to go into the edit screen. That, however, i not something I can arrange.

Dobroslawa Wierzbicka
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
February 20, 2013

Sounds like a neat solution, +1 for working this out. Once the Custom Fields can be added to the Issue Detail view (GHS-3474), it'll become even smoother, with users being able to edit Condition inline in the right pane.

1 vote
Dobroslawa Wierzbicka
Rising Star
Rising Star