Creating an issue on one Kanban board appears on another board?

Fadi Chehimi July 28, 2016

Hi

I have never used Kanban boards before, but now I am exploring them for particular project settings.

I have three Kanban boards under one project. When I create a new issue and have one Kanban board active the issue is created successfully. But when I move to another board, i see that created issue there too!!

The same applies when moving issues around the different workflow columns. When I move one issue on one board, it moves on all other boards too.

Is there something I am missing or do not understand about Kanban boards? Or I am doing something wrong in creating Issues?

Hope someone can help

Thanks

Fadi

4 answers

1 accepted

Suggest an answer

2 votes
Answer accepted
Benjamin Vonlanthen July 28, 2016

Hi Fadi

Important to know is that what is shown on a kanban and also on sprint boards is based on a filter. This determines what you see in combination with the status in the columns.

So if your three kanban boards have all the same filter query, you see the same issues and therefore also the same movements in tasks.

If you want to split this you can do this by adjusting the queries. e.g.:

1. project=TEST and type=Bug
  2. project=TEST and type=Feature
  3. project=TEST and type-Task

This way each board shows different issue types.

Depending on how you want to have the difference in your three boards you should adjust your queries.

I hope that helps and clarifies some.

Best regards

Benjamin

1 vote
Stefan Arnold
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
July 28, 2016

The Kanban-Board works with filters.

So something like "project = xyz" and status 1" is lane 1, "project = xyz and status 2" is lane 2 and so on.