Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Sign up Log in

Earn badges and make progress

You're on your way to the next level! Join the Kudos program to earn points and save your progress.

Deleted user Avatar
Deleted user

Level 1: Seed

25 / 150 points

Next: Root


1 badge earned


Participate in fun challenges

Challenges come and go, but your rewards stay with you. Do more to earn more!


Gift kudos to your peers

What goes around comes around! Share the love by gifting kudos to your peers.


Rise up in the ranks

Keep earning points to reach the top of the leaderboard. It resets every quarter so you always have a chance!


Come for the products,
stay for the community

The Atlassian Community can help you and your team get more value out of Atlassian products and practices.

Atlassian Community about banner
Community Members
Community Events
Community Groups

Change the hierarchy levels in Advanced roadmaps


I would like to change the hierachy levels in the Advanced Roadmap. 

My goal is to add the tasks under the stories (instead of sub-tasks). 

For some reasons I can move the "task level" only under the "initiative" and I can't drag and drop this field under the stories.

Could you please help me to understand why thishappens? 


1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted

The hierarchy in Advanced Roadmaps is for the levels of Epic and above.  It does not change the standard Epic -> Issue -> sub-task in Jira Software.

All you can do here is make your "task" issue type into a sub-task type, where it will work alongside (not above or below) the existing sub-task type.

Hi @Nic Brough -Adaptavist-  thank you for your reply!

I tried that as well, but I don't have the option to select the tasks instead of sub tasks.


I can see the drop-down menu for initiative and epic but not for story and task / sub task

That's because you don't do the change from here, you have to change the issue type in the issue type lists.

In fact, you can't convert them.  You'll have to rename "Task" to something else (temporarily), then create a new Issue type called "Task", selecting the sub-task level for it instead of issue level.

Hi @Nic Brough -Adaptavist- , thank you!

I didn't get where I should change the issue type. From here? 



Yes, that's correct.  You'll need to add a new subtask type for "task" after renaming the existing task to something else.

Like Sari likes this

Suggest an answer

Log in or Sign up to answer

Atlassian Community Events